TTAC REGION 4 Home
Virginia Department of Education's Training and Technical Assistance Center at George Mason University

TTAC GMU Advisory Board

Once a year, the TTAC at GMU conducts a meeting with our Advisory Board, which includes representative stakeholders from Virginia Superintendent’s Region 4. The Advisory Board consists of invited individuals who are willing to share their experience, expertise, and insight in working with students with disabilities. They offer a variety of perspectives and, collectively, have diverse responsibilities in the school divisions and educational agencies in Region 4. Current members include administrators, instructional leaders, content coordinators, general educators, special educators, and parents.

The two purposes of the annual meeting are interconnected. The first purpose is to inform members about current VDOE – TTAC initiatives and work efforts. Having each Advisory Board Member share these new initiatives and report organizational or process changes to his/her division is an essential element in helping TTAC-GMU accomplish its mission. The second purpose is to seek advice and guidance on how TTAC can better provide services and improve academic and behavioral outcomes for students, particularly those with disabilities. We depend on the diverse experience of our members to provide their view of the immediate needs and best approach to supporting our students. Following the meeting, the feedback offered by Board members is compiled and summarized. This information helps TTAC staff understand the current needs of the educators in Region 4, guides them in carrying out their mission, and, very importantly, is shared with project leads and policy makers at the VDOE.

Please download our 2019 Advisory Board Meeting Agenda Scheduled for March 12, 2019.

2019-20 Advisory Board Members

Division Name Title Email
Alexandria City Dr. Erin Stone Autism & Behavior Services Coordinator erin.stone@acps.k12.va.us
Arlington Kathleen Donovan Parent Resource Center Coordinator Kathleen.donovan@apsva.us
Arlington Dr. Kelly Krug Supervisor, Arlington Tiered System of Support (ATSS) kelly.krug@apsva.us
Clarke County Jeana Knickerbocker School Psychologist knickerbockerj@clarke.k12.va.us
Culpeper County Bonnie Fenwick Secondary Literacy Coordinator bfenwick@culpeperschools.org
Fairfax County Denise Forrest Coordinator, Early Childhood Special Education dbforrest@fcps.edu
Fairfax County Ann M. Smith Principal Amsmith2@fcps.edu
Falls Church City Marie Baroody Preschool Director mbaroody@fccps.org
Fauquier County Randy Corpening Director of Special Education rcorpening@FCPS1.ORG
Frederick County Michele Sandy Director of Special Instructional Services sandym@fcpsk12.net
Loudoun County Megan Wagner Special Education Procedural Support Coordinator Megan.Wagner@lcps.org
Madison County Rebecca Lewis Special Education Department Chair rlewis@madisonschools.k12.va.us
Manassas City Carrie Pendleton Special Education Instructional Specialist cpendleton@mcpsva.org
Manassas Park City Ann Gwynn Principal Ann.gwynn@mpark.net
Main Street Development Center Susan Rismiller Education Director srismiller@mainstreetcdc.org
Orange County Susan Aylor Director of Special Education saylor@ocss-va.org
Page County Eric Benson Director of Instruction ebenson@pagecounty.k12.va.us
Prince William County Becky Yellets Supervisor, Special Education Yelletra@pwcs.edu
Prince William County Dr. Michelle Roper Director of Special Education ropermm@pwcs.edu
Rappahannock County Carol Johnson Assistant Superintendent cjohnson@rappahannockschools.us
Shenandoah County Gina Stetter Director of Special Education gmstetter@shenandoah.k12.va.us
Warren County Amiira Lanterman Teacher of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Assistive Technology alanterman@wcps.k12.va.us
Winchester Sarah Kish Director of Special Education Kish.sarah@wps.k12.va.us